Connect with us

Multilevel Marketing

The rise and fall of Empower Network (Dave Wood update)

Empower Network was one of the top MLMs in the digital network marketing game, once upon a time…

I saw it all go down, the rise and fall.

You see, I was a former 1%-er in Empower Network, but knew I had to get out.

This video explains:

 

All good? Let’s continue…

Empower Network update: On August 1, 2017, Dave Wood announced that Empower Network no longer exists and would enter bankruptcy court.

Dave Wood update: In early June 2017, Dave Wood was admitted to rehab. According to his brother, William, he made some poor decisions and will step away from Empower Network for at least one year.

Here is my original review:

The famed era of Empower Network was mostly 2012 and 2013.

Co-founders Dave Wood and Dave Sharpe were like Tupac. Their message was unapologetic: “Don’t be a damned wussy and buy all the products”.

Or, “Fight the forces of evil”, they said.

It was genius. And the people loved it.

I remember driving down for the San Diego event and seeing lines out the door of people buying Dave Wood/Sharpe and “Fight the Forces of Evil” shirts before the event even started.

I remember Dave Wood would hop on these “Inner Circle” calls every Monday and make fun of the corporate lifestyle and then hype the best leaders in the company.

Everyone got pumped. I was pumped, too, as I was brainwashed from an oceanside hammock in El Tunco, El Salvador listening to Dave Wood go off.

I wanted to be a part of the movement. Empower Network was cult.

Then it seems the mood changed.

They stopped updating their digital products.

I mean their products were “video vaults”. Education. You gotta update these.

I loved the original Empower Network products.

I was coming up in marketing at that time (still working for SEO.com) and I was eating up the training. Fresh, updated info-products that taught SEO, PPC, solo ads – all by marketers who were making at least $15k/mo on the internet.

So this was mid-2014 or so. They hyped this product blog re-launch called the “blog beast” and it completely tanked. It offered zero value to the marketplace. Which sucked, cause it was their flagship product at the time.

(Which also massively sucked for me, because at this exact time, I started to rank top 3 on Google for “Empower Network”, as I do till this day)

After the failed launch, they kept adding “supplemental products” to the company instead of refreshing and updating their existing products.

So you had people dropping $500, $1,000, and $3,500 for these digital products (which people were mostly cool with – because you would get paid 100% commissions on those) and then they kept launching additional products that paid limited commissions or no commissions at all.

“Pull out your credit cards again and buy this, too, if you’re loyal to Empower”, they implied.

People kept buying stuff, but then the message was lost.

“What does ‘getting all in’ even mean anymore, Dave?”, the masses wondered.

All of the sudden, the ‘coolness factor’ was lost, and then it was the beginning of a painful decline:

Leaders start leaving. Then Dave Sharpe (the co-founder) bounces for “health reasons”.

Dave Wood goes through a divorce and another relationship. Then we learn Wood and Sharpe beefed for 2 years after Sharpe’s departure.

And now, you pretty much have a company that was founded 5 years ago starting from scratch.

empower-network-review

Today, you hop on a Dave Wood call (which I do from time to time cause I seriously miss the dude) and he’s still dropping gems for the people. But then he’s also launching or re-launching another product, too.

Translation: manufacturing hype.

Vintage network marketing. I taught this in part 2 of my MLM piece, which has now been read by over a million people.

One thing is for sure: Dave Wood and his loyalty to Empower Network is undeniable. He doesn’t quit.

Through the highs and lows, he is there for his people.

Either way, it’s been tough to watch and I hope the best for Empower Network, even though I’ve moved on from my MLM ways.

Here is the rest of my original Empower Network review that will provide more context to those unfamiliar with the company:

Empower Network is an online network marketing company that sells internet marketing tools and training. Namely, a blogging platform and a line of digital products that teach people how to make money on the internet.

Then, as a home based business opportunity, you have the option to sell the products and receive commissions.

Before starting Empower Network, co-founder David Wood endured years of approaching well-dressed people in Wal-Mart, 3-ways, home meetings and other traditional multi-level-marketing activities.

Then, he figured out a way to scale his businesses (the internet way), teams up with David Sharpe and together they launch Empower Network on October 31, 2011.

One week later, the company does 1 million in paid commissions and takes off.

A movement is started. Think: new-age MLM.

Products

Empower Network has five core products, although new Empower Network “add-ons” like ipas 2 have bundled the products to add simplicity.

Here are the five core:

  • Kalatu blog $25/mo: web blogging platform and mobile app for iPhone/Android…I’d say it’s comparable to WordPress frameworks like Genesis and Thesis – the Kalatu comes with 8 different themes, and targets people in the network and affiliate marketing industry while also providing options for the small business and real estate spaces. Good product. Revolutionary? Hardly, but a much better improvement from their original blogging platform. You can get started for $9
  • Inner Circle $100/mo: an archived audio library that feature Empower Network leaders delivering weekly mindset/inspirational calls since late ‘2011, lot’s of hype and redundancy (you’ll hear Dave Sharpe’s addiction stories 50+ times if you listened to all of them), but some great gems in there to get your mind right
  • Top Producer Formula $500: learn the best skillsets and how-to’s from Empower Network elite – this seems to be the old 15k formula
  • Team Building Formula $1,000: the ultimate presentation about team duplication, specifically for multi-level marketing teams
  • Mass Influence Formula $3,500: power presentations on sales and persuasion, produced by the big-leagues and elite

Compensation Plan

(November 2015 update: Empower Network rolls out a uni-level compensation plan. It has a ton of ranks – it appears the comp plan primarily achieves manufactured urgency)

Here is the old Empower Network compensation plan, in thirty seconds:

  • You only earn commissions for products you’ve purchased (if you aren’t qualified, they pass up to the next person who is qualified)
  • You get 100% payouts on all the products (except Master’s Course, where you get paid a $3,000 commission for $3,500 sale) …however, you pass up your 2nd, 4th, 6th sale and every fifth sale after that — on each product.
  • Finally, there is a $19.99 monthly affiliate fee that you pay to sell the products.

You can see how the EN comp plan was a little different from other digital MLMs (see: Zukul, Infinii, and Wealthy Affiliate).

Recap

So, real quick…

The good: Empower Network is ‘big ticket’ (earn up to $4,625 per affiliate), most of the tools and training are top-tier and their sales funnel flat-out works

The bad: Some of their products desperately need upgrades, and a lot of spammy ‘me-first’ marketers promote it.

Thanks for taking the time to read my Empower Network review.

Like I said in the intro, they had a good run. Somewhere along the way, though, the message became lost.

In case you just scrolled to the bottom, I decided to part ways with Empower Network in 2014 even though I was a 1%-er affiliate in the company. I have since quadrupled my income, travel the world and make more money than most doctors and lawyers.

In other words, you might like this because it teaches the “good life” without MLM product re-launches and up-sales.

36 Comments

36 Comments

  1. Megan

    January 4, 2015 at 8:20 pm

    I am interested in the Local lead generation. How do I get into it?

    • Jeremy Page

      January 4, 2015 at 9:24 pm

      Right here, Megan.

  2. Sal

    February 15, 2015 at 12:36 pm

    Love the content Jeremy! Local Lead Gen sounds brilliant. Just set up a 1 on 1 call. We’ll chat soon my friend…

    • Jeremy Page

      February 15, 2015 at 9:39 pm

      Awesome, excited to hear from you.

  3. chris napier

    February 19, 2015 at 8:56 am

    I generate leads already for real estate agents. Im in the mortgage business. I have been working on developing for other businesses as i am already doing it for me. My thought is the same. Lead generation for different businesses. I look forward to the call.

    • Jeremy Page

      February 20, 2015 at 1:49 am

      Awesome, looking forward to connecting with you.

  4. Lin Ronald

    February 20, 2015 at 11:30 pm

    Like to hear more about your local lead generation business.
    Cheers,

    • Jeremy Page

      February 21, 2015 at 8:50 am

      Gotta watch the video and set up a phone appointment here.

  5. allen

    March 13, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    would like to have a call about lead generation. I generate leads and sales for alarm companies already for years. I would love to do it on my own, contact @ [email protected].
    Thankd Bro

    • Jeremy Page

      March 14, 2015 at 7:16 pm

      Awesome man, make sure you watch the video and schedule a call.

  6. Steve Cargill

    March 16, 2015 at 5:40 am

    Hey man, just wanted to congratulate you on a refreshing vid. Really appreciate the integrity, you weren’t after my last dime. I fall in the broke category right now, but you need to know, I don’t plan on staying this way and I’ll look you up as soon as I’m ready to take full advantage. Keep it up guys. Steve

    • Jeremy Page

      March 16, 2015 at 8:17 am

      Awesome. Thanks for letting me know your thoughts, glad you liked it.

  7. krista

    May 8, 2015 at 3:59 am

    Interested. I reside in Seattle. Been in MLM for 10 years with Mannatech and work for Microsoft. I would like another stream of income and like the sound of this one. Contact me so I can get more info.

    Thank you.

    • Jeremy Page

      May 8, 2015 at 4:20 am

      Krista, I saw you scheduled a call. Perfect. Hope to see you on the inside.

  8. Jonathan Schlossberg

    May 19, 2015 at 7:56 am

    Would love to set up a call…can’t find the scheduler.

    Thanks!

    • Jeremy Page

      May 21, 2015 at 7:51 pm

      Watch the video in the post and it will show up after you watch the video. That’s how we roll around here, only accepting the well-informed.

  9. Jonathan

    November 1, 2015 at 2:22 pm

    I respect this honest brutal truth

  10. jim

    November 7, 2015 at 5:13 pm

    Excellent review Jeremy. Bailing out of EN after two years of no income, no downline. Was unable to do some of the 8 Core Steps which included attending events. What I did do with the budget that I had at the time was some offline advertising in opportunity magazines. Competing with the EN high earners full page ads including David Wood who claims he never paid for traffic. Posting new articles on the blog daily (currently have 800 articles on the Basic Kalatu Blog. Redirected posts to a facebook page, redirected posts to twitter and any other site I could redirect to plus signature file in forums to redirect to the blog website. Purchased the 15K formula $1,000 which has been retired and replaced with Team Building.

    All 15 EN Millionaires were all high earners with a list, high budgets for promoting and lots of experience that the newbie coming onboard doesn’t have. Even with the training you can still struggle.

    After two years, I have had enough of EN and can do better things with the money and time invested in this opportunity.

    Like you Jeremy, I’m not here to trash EN. This opportunity is not for everyone. Without traffic and exposure, you’re wasting your money. It’s also getting to expensive. Yes they recently partnered with Ipas which is another added expense.

    Fortunately I didn’t go all in for $5,000 plus the monthies for $125 – $172 (Kalatu Premium $72, $100 Inner Circle). This is for EN then there’s additional for Ipas.

    Right now with their new Uni-line, one feels pressured to upgrade or get passed up by someone who does.

    It will be such a relief when I press that cancel button.

    Yes, EN & Ipas are legit, transparent that not everyone will earn a income. Thank you for reading and will check out your video Jeremy.

    • Jeremy Page

      November 8, 2015 at 11:47 am

      There’s some truth to competing with the “high earners” in EN. If you go the paid route, you need to be ready to double down quick. Get’s spendy. If you go the blogging route, then you gotta compete with people like me and Brad who rank for everything Empower Network related. Get’s tricky.

      That’s why we show people a less competitive and more lucrative alternative to money-chasing…err, MLM.

      • Terry

        April 23, 2017 at 2:02 pm

        Always resihferng to hear a rational answer.

  11. Pedro

    November 30, 2015 at 7:02 pm

    It’s cool that you’re promoting local lead gen. But at the end of the day you are using the same skill set that one can gain from Empower ( blogging, SEO, etc; ) so I wouldn’t bash EN!

    At the end of the day the most important skill set is in having a vision and creating something that is innovative.

    • Jeremy Page

      November 30, 2015 at 7:14 pm

      I got love for Empower. Made that pretty clear (read my MLM rankings).

      Yeah, Empower Network taught valuable parts of generating leads, no doubt. 2013’s 15k Formula product was bonkers. At the time, that was one of the best internet marketing trainings available.

      Still, they’re plagued by the industry. Money-chasers. Gimme. Gimme. Gimme. Click on my link.

  12. Adriana Morales

    May 22, 2016 at 3:11 pm

    Empower Network has changed, pre launch is happening again. I’ve been an affiliate since December. It’s been the best experience of my life as its changed me and moved me from a lot of bad things in my life, especially dealing with PTSD. As far as the “cult” thing it’s pretty laughable. David Wood actually has got us to repeat somethings and jokes “like a cult” doesn’t really strike me as odd, I just know his sense of humor and I love it! Maybe the company wasn’t revolutionary before but we are growing faster than ever now and are actually in pre launch RIGHT NOW and amazing things are happening PERIOD. And yes we do learn a lot of marketing, best of the best not just cult like behaviors. I will NEVER leave this company.

    • Jeremy Page

      June 2, 2016 at 6:47 am

      “Pre-Launch is happening again”

      Everyone, wake up! Please.

      Empower Network (i love Dave Wood, regardless, by the way) has done countless “re-launches” over and over and over again.

      Blog Beast Network was a relaunch, then Kalutu, then the new comp plan, then the iPas merge, and now Project Titan.

      It’s manufactured hype. A way to make people they’re “getting in” at the right time. It’s vintage MLM, and you shouldn’t fall for it. I talked more about this in Part 2 of my MLM rankings post.

  13. Eric Muse

    August 14, 2016 at 11:38 am

    I am interested in what you guys do. I can’t schedule a RELIABLE phone call because I’m currently in Kuwait. I’m active duty in the army but I want to pick up a money making venture on the side so I can move on to other things in life. If you could contact me over e-mail and we could set up some type of video chat or direct message chat I’d love to hear more about this project. Thank you in advance for your time.

    • Jeremy Page

      August 15, 2016 at 9:32 pm

      Eric, appreciate your service!

      I’ll shoot you an email.

  14. Ryan Page

    October 22, 2016 at 4:05 pm

    Jeremy-
    It’s apparent that you have mastered lifestyle design but my question is what is the “secret” to your success? I don’t know that I’m ready to invest time or money for my future, I just want to know the “secret” and kind of skip this investing and working hard part.
    -Thanks

    • Jeremy Page

      October 23, 2016 at 8:51 pm

      Lol.

      My brother on here trying to troll me.

      Funny thing is, people actually ask me questions like this sometimes.

  15. Elisa Heck

    December 14, 2016 at 1:28 pm

    Hi Jeremy,
    I currently am generating leads for one real estate team. I’d love to learn how to generate leads on a larger scale. Thanks for the info on EN I had thought about joining. -Elisa

    • Jeremy Page

      December 16, 2016 at 9:41 am

      You might like this.

  16. Jay

    June 18, 2017 at 7:23 pm

    Damn that is some deep stuff on empower network. I was always wondering what happened to empower network.

    Good breakdown of what happened.

    • Jeremy Page

      June 20, 2017 at 9:40 pm

      Yeah, they’ve had a crazy ride

  17. Stan The Man

    June 30, 2017 at 6:22 pm

    I love those comments, and they all are valid. The question is now, who takes on the lead pitch man. I think Dave Sharpe is possible should return and redo the commotions back to 100%. That would get everyone one talking for sure. There are some others out there but they need someone fast.

    • Jeremy Page

      July 5, 2017 at 8:33 pm

      The return of Sharpe would be epic but thats not happening…

  18. Beth Stormont

    July 9, 2017 at 3:01 am

    I want to know what your business is about.

    • Jeremy Page

      July 10, 2017 at 8:28 am

      You can learn more here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Multilevel Marketing

Zija review: Nutritional supplements from moringa

Zija is a nutritional products network marketing company capitalizing on the healthful properties of moringa.

In May 2017 they acquired Xango, making them a bigger force in the health MLM space.

Run by a pioneer inventor in the herbal supplement industry and propelled by a top Harvard scientist, Zija is setup to do big things.

Overview

We’ll take a look at exactly what Zija is celebrating. You’ll find out whether the science is there to support the claims made about moringa. You’ll also discover how well their International compensation plan stacks up in a sea that’s brimming with nutritional energy drinks (hint: Tru Vision, Isagenix, and Visi).

First let’s find out about moringa.

Moringa Oleifera is a tree found in the foothills of the Himalayas known for its drought-resistant properties (1). The seedpods are eaten in Africa and Asia. The leaves are the most nutritious part and are eaten in Southeast Asia. The flowers are said to taste like mushrooms.

There seems to be no question as to the high nutritional value of moringa. It’s a good source of protein as well as vitamins, amino acids, minerals, and phenolics (2).

But delve a little deeper and the clinical studies aren’t there yet for many of the claims made by Zija Interntional. More on that below.

Who is Zija International? The founder of Zija is Ken Brailsford. He is credited with inventing herbal encapsulation, and with helping to bring moringa to the supplement industry after watching a documentary about the health benefits of consuming parts of the moringa tree.

Mr.Brailsford is actually something of a “star” in the herbal supplement world. He started Nature’s Sunshine in the 1970s, to capitalize on his new herbal encapsulation methodology. He ran that until 1979 when he left to become a stockbroker because of a noncompete clause with Nature’s Sunshine (3). He later went back but fully retired in 1997 until he founded Zija years later.

The company is based in Lehi, Utah and boasts an executive team of “experienced MLM professionals.”  That would include CEO Rodney Larsen who was hired to promote the growth goals of Zija. Mr.Larsen has been with ZI since 2006 and his LinkedIn profile shows no other data before that year. Some Zija affiliate websites do mention that he worked for NEXX and a branch of NuSkin Entrprises before joining Zija.

President Brad Stewart’s profile mentions that he has managed his career “through vision and faith”. He has been involved in network marketing his whole life.

Executive Vice President Darrell Eyre started as an Amway distributor and has been in network marketing for 25 years.

COO Michael Hershberger has over 15 years experience in management and IT and an MBA.

The takeaway: apart from the Chief Operating Officer, Zija International is run by people who have pretty much always worked in network marketing. The founder is recognized as an important figure in herbal supplement history and founded one of the oldest and most successful herbal supplement companies in the world.

Zija International is a BBB accredited business with a rating of A+.

Products

The ZI products can be divided into three categories: moringa, ameo, and ripstix. Headed by  Harvard Medical School valedictorian Joshua Plant, the scientific wing of Zija International is actively engaged in formulating new products based on moringa and other botanicals.

Moringa is believed to support a wide range of health benefits, including anti-inflammatory support, improved digestion, improved mental clarity, increased energy, anti-aging, immune system support, and blood glucose level regulation. All of these benefits are listed on the Zija International website.

Scientific evidence and clinical trials, however, are hard to find.

There is one agricultural study  where mice and ruminants were given moringa tea. It was found that the white cell count in the mice who drank the tea was significantly higher. Mice also experienced reduced inflammatory responses.

In that same study, Moringa also improved cell viability in sheep and goats, and reduced oxidative stress from internal parasites. No effect on the gut health of pigs was observed, however (4). The results of this study have only been published informally to date.

The same Ag & Tech school that’s conducting that study is also looking into the use of moringa to promote animal health. Specifically, they’re researching moringa’s effects on the immune system (on B and T cells). In addition, they’re studying moringa’s effects on growth rate and performance of pigs. However, at this time it’s merely stated that more research is needed (5).

There is also a World Health Report citing the use of moringa in the use of water treatment in developing countries (6). But so far, not much has made it into the National Institutes of Health’s PubMed system.

The takeaway: moringa is incredibly nutritionally dense, but clinical studies are needed to support many of the health benefit claims made by Zija Interntaional.

Essential oils produced with clinical-grade standards and Zija’s exclusive patent-pending certification system.

Ripstix Hydration and Fitness Line – these are energy drinks in powdered form. Fitness supplements containing L-arginine (8) and electrolytes, they also contain fructose which some people try and stay away from.

Compensation Plan

There are tens of thousands of independent distributors working for Zija International. They have access to an extensive network of Zija training modules, including videos, an app, audio training, all of which is measured by a series of exams.

It’s the only MLM known to have a certification process for its distributors. Not only that, but every 90 days, distributors must re-certify. Passing exams means higher pay, too (7).

This is similar to how non-MLM companies handle their training. For example, public school teachers get pay raises when they pass graduate-level courses from accredited institutions of higher learning.

So what if Zija operates its own training, testing, and certification program in-house: it’s far above and beyond what you’ll see in other MLM companies.

Details:

1) IBOs profit by purchasing products at wholesale prices and selling them at retail (up to 25% profit).

2) Qualify to earn commission by being on autoship for at least 75 PV per month.

3) Get 10% of sales made by your personally enrolled recruits.

4) Team commissions and further bonuses as you advance in rank.

Recap

Zija appears to offer a good product. They have done a lot of things right and have a unique niche in the competitive nutritional supplement industry. But the income potential isn’t worth my time.

I’m not saying Zija International is a bad company – they’re not.

With any MLM, peddling products to your family members and friends at church might work for a couple months…maybe over a year if you’re lucky.

In the end, it’s still the sad story of selling hype and chasing the hot opportunity.

There is a better way.

Check this out. This will help wreck your money-chasing habits.

Continue Reading